Nothing is sexier than a comedian

15 Jan

So my best friend Jill and I went to see Nick Kroll at Second City last night, and he was AMAZING. I don’t know about anyone else, but there is literally nothing sexier than a comedian:

2013-01-13 22.29.23

If you watch “The League,” and I’m assuming you do, he’s the guy who plays Ruxin. He’s also now #3 on my list of comedians that I would like to receive as birthday presents (#1 is Andy Samberg, #2 is Jon LaJoie, a.k.a. Taco on “The League”).

But enough about that…I’m starting to sound a little too much like I did at age 14 and I thought that ‘N Sync was the epitome of human existence.

Being at Second City was weird too, because I used to take classes in the training center there. I really miss it and I didn’t realize how much I missed it until I step back into the building last night. Not to toot my own horn, but I was pretty damn good at improv, and I keep trying to remember the flimsy reason I gave to talk myself out of pursuing it further. I think I’m afraid of success or rejection or both, and it sucks because shouldn’t a fear of both those things cancel them out? I’ve always had this fantasy of being a cast member on SNL, which is a lofty ambition but I’ve seen some of the people on there and I’m just as good.

Of course, it’s easier to justify a pipe dream when you have a “real job,” and considering my unemployment status, I don’t think anyone will entertain the thought of me explore an unlikely goal unless I counteract it by being miserable in a cubicle job that ends up trapping me into a lifetime of mediocrity and fluorescent lighting. I hate how everyone says you should aim high and shoot for the stars, but at the same time you’re expected to maintain a full-time job while you also pursue your dream on the side. When did it become okay to put your dreams to the side in order to live the life that people determine is the “normal?” ARGH.

I have a degree in English and I’m getting my masters in Marketing. I’m not amazingly gifted at either one. But those are the fields I’m “supposed” to go into. Dammit.

Well, I’m off to drink wine and play video games (might as well enjoy unemployment while I can). Here’s my daily kitten picture:

2012-05-25_13-36-59_603

Sawyer is vigilant when it comes to monitoring the movement of the pigeon population outside of my apartment. I feel a little safer with her around.

Word.

Andrea

One Response to “Nothing is sexier than a comedian”

  1. julietjoyce January 17, 2013 at 10:06 pm #

    I love what you said about the “real job” stuff– I’m battling with all that now. If you’re bored, read my “About Me” section. I just did it and its less of an about me as it is me venting about the dynamic of that real-job/entertainment thing.

Leave a Reply

